Louisenlund - Lernen, Leisten, Leben


The IB Diploma Programme - high academic standards and courses taught in English

Stiftung Louisenlund is the only IB World School in Schleswig-Holstein. In addition to the Abitur, Louisenlund also offers the IB Diploma, a globally recognized, secondary school qualification. It was developed to free international students from the burden of various national curricula and examinations. IB students, whose parents move from Tokyo to Lagos to Munich, have the option of continuing in the same school system.

An internationally recognized school qualification is also increasingly of interest for German students. This is especially true for students who plan to study abroad.

An IB education is a continuum generally consisting of three phases. There is the Primary Years Programme (grades 1-5), the Middle Years Programme (grades 6-10) and the Diploma Programme (grades 11 and 12). In Louisenlund we currently offer the Diploma Programme as well as our own Pre-IB (Pre-Diploma) Programme in grade 10. The latter aims to prepare students specifically for the IB Diploma Programme, while keeping the alternative open for students to pursue the Abitur in grades 11 and 12. At the end of the first semester, Pre-IB students make a preliminary decision either for the IB Diploma Programme or the German secondary system for 11th grade. 

Rigorous standards guarantee a high-quality education at 4,775 accredited IB World Schools across the globe. From Hong Kong to Dar-es-Salaam to Vienna and San Francisco, assessment expectations and examinations in the IB Diploma Programme are identical. These standards are the basis of the IB Diploma’s worldwide recognition.

[Translate to English:] Internationale Schule, Hamburg, Schleswig-Holstein, Deutschland

Entry requirements

The way into the IB Diploma Programme

German-speaking students seeking to enter the IB Diploma Programme in Louisenlund require the level B2 in the English language. International students must also demonstrate competency in the German language at the level A2. If the latter prerequisite is lacking, a course at a language institute or on-campus instruction in German will be required. 

The IB Diploma Programme has very high academic standards. Accordingly, acceptance of students into the programme is determined on an individual basis with particular consideration of the candidate’s talents, abilities, and prospects of success. Please see our Admissions Policy for more detailed information.
 

The IB Diploma creates the best possible conditions for getting accepted to a university abroad.
Julie, IB DP graduate, 2017

Subject combinations

Subject Choices in the IB Diploma Programme

Students in the IB Diploma Programme choose six subjects from at least five subject groups: Studies in language and literature, Language acquisition, Individuals and societies, Sciences, and Mathematics. The sixth subject is an elective and may be chosen from the Arts or one of the other subject groups. Candidates can choose from diverse subject combinations according to their personal interests. Subject availability will depend upon the course selection of admitted/enrolled students:

Group 1 – Mother Tongue

  • German A, Literature: SL/HL
  • English A, Language and Literature: SL/HL
  • Chinese A self-taught: SL
  • Russian A self-taught: SL
  • Spanish A self-taught: SL
  • other self-taught languages only after consultation with us

Group 2 – Foreign Language

  • English B: HL
  • German B: HL
  • French B: SL/HL

Group 3 – Social Science

  • Geography: SL/HL
  • Economics: SL/HL
  • Business & Management: SL/HL

Group 4 – Experimental

  • Biology: SL/HL
  • Chemistry: SL/HL
  • Design Technology: SL/HL
  • Physics SL/HL

Group 5 – Mathematics

  • Mathematics: SL/HL
  • Mathematical Studies: SL

Group 6 – The Arts

  • Visual Arts: SL/HL
The IB Diploma places an enormous value on differentiating between good students and excellent students. It’s no surprise that the best universities in the world prefer accepting IB graduates.
Christine Brinck, DIE ZEIT

IB Diploma Programme Core

Another key element of the Diploma Programme is the “Core“, which consists of three key components:

Theory of Knowledge (TOK) is an intra-disciplinary subject, which enables students to broaden their perspective by engaging with the various Areas of Knowledge and Ways of Knowing. One of the main goals of TOK is developing a deepening understanding of the methods and perspectives through which knowledge is generated and communicated. Additionally, TOK encourages students’ critical thinking skills. 

The Extended Essay is a further core component, for which students develop a research question in a subject area of their choice and produce an extensive research essay as a response. Students and teachers place a high value on this experience as it helps to develop skills necessary for higher education.

For a detailed description of the IB Diploma Programme Core, please consult our IB Handbook.
 

[Translate to English:] Internationale Privatschule, Hamburg, Deutschland

Final Exams

Final Exams in the Diploma Programme - on the same day worldwide

Unlike for the German “Abitur“, the results of each subject in the Diploma Programme count equally. Students can achieve a maximum of 45 points. 24 is the minimum number of points needed to pass. 

IB Diploma Programme examinations are issued centrally by the IB Organisation and are taken by students on the same day across the globe. These examinations are then marked by certified IB examiners from all over the world. Results are published approximately six weeks after the completion of the exams.

The IB Diploma is the ideal credential for acceptance to higher educational programmes abroad. For a future career in a globalizing society and for increasing cultural awareness and dialogue, the IB Diploma is a particularly good qualification. Through the international student body in the programme and the teaching of subjects in English, the IB Diploma Programme in Louisenlund is like taking part in an exchange on your own school campus, the best of both worlds. 
 

Parent counselling and admission

The way to the IB World School Louisenlund

Choosing the right school and changing schools is a special challenge for parents and children, which should be carefully considered. And so the right school provides the child with all the opportunities for the future.

We would be happy to inform interested parents and children about our offer and the opportunities offered by the IB World School Louisenlund.

To give you a particularly authentic impression of Louisenlund, we would like to invite you and your children to a first personal meeting. This gives us the opportunity to assess the child's personality and level of achievement and to find out whether we can meet the child's expectations. In addition, we will provide you with comprehensive information about our academic and pedagogical concept and the special features of the English-language International Baccalaureate.

Admission office international

Kirsten Conradi
P +49 4354 999-307
kirsten.conradi@louisenlund.de

Costs

Give your child the gift of a Louisenlund education

As a not-for-profit foundation and private school, Louisenlund finances its annual budget mainly through school fees (tuition). These fees are set by the board of directors for each school year.

See the link to the scale of fees below:

Louisenlund - Lernen, Leisten, Leben


Das IB Diploma – wissenschaftlich und komplett in englischer Sprache

Die Stiftung Louisenlund ist die einzige IB World School in Schleswig-Holstein. Neben dem Abitur wird somit in Louisenlund auch das IB Diploma angeboten, ein internationaler Schulabschluss in englischer Sprache.  Entwickelt wurde er, um internationale Schüler von der Last stets anderer nationaler Curricula und Prüfungen zu befreien. Schüler, deren Eltern von Tokyo nach Lagos oder München ziehen, können getrost im selben System weitermachen.

Internationale Schulabschlüsse sind auch für deutsche Schüler zunehmend interessant. Das gilt im speziellen für die, die später mit einem Studium im Ausland liebäugeln.

Die IB Ausbildung gliedert sich grundsätzlich in drei Abschnitte. Es gibt ein „Primary Years Programme“ (entspricht den Klassen 1-5), ein „Middle Years Programme“ (entspricht den Klassen 6-E) und das „Diploma Programme“, (entspricht den Klassen Q1 und Q2). Louisenlund bietet ausschließlich das „Diploma Programme“ an. Zusätzlich kann man bereits im E-Jahrgang (Klasse 10) in das sogenannte Pre-IB einsteigen. Es zielt darauf ab, die Schüler sowohl auf das Diploma Programme als auch auf das Abitur vorzubereiten. Im Pre-IB fällt in der Regel die Entscheidung, ob ein Schüler tatsächlich das internationale IB Diploma absolvieren möchte, oder doch das deutsche Abitur bevorzugt.

Strenge Standards garantieren eine hohe Bildungsqualität an über 4.775 akkreditierten Schulen – den sogenannten IB World Schools. Von Hong Kong über Dar-es-Salaam und Wien bis nach San Francisco herrschen identische Prüfungsbedingungen. Dies begründet die weltweit hohe Anerkennung der Absolventen.

Internationale Schule, Hamburg, Schleswig-Holstein, Deutschland

Eingangsvoraussetzungen

Der Weg ins IB Diploma Programme

Deutschsprachige Schüler, die das IB Diploma in Louisenlund belegen möchten, benötigen mindestens die Niveaustufe B2 der englischen Sprache. Schüler aus dem Ausland benötigen ferner die Niveaustufe A2 in Deutsch.

Das IB Diploma Programme hat ein hohes akademisches Niveau. Daher wird bei der Aufnahme jeder Schüler individuell angeschaut, um eine möglichst präzise Prognose in Bezug auf die späteren Erfolgschancen auf dem Weg zum IB Diploma abzugeben (siehe Admissions Policy im IB Handbook).
 

Das IB Diploma schafft ideale Voraussetzungen für die Aufnahme eines internationalen Studiums.
Julie, IB-Absolventin 2017

Fächerkombinationen

Fächerkombination im IB Diploma Programme – individuelle Wahlmöglichkeiten für die Schüler

Die Schüler des IB Diploma Programme wählen aus sechs Fächergruppen. Ähnlich wie beim Abitur müssen fünf davon abgedeckt werden, nämlich Sprache und Literatur, Fremdsprachen, Gesellschaftswissenschaften, Naturwissenschaften und Mathematik. Das sechste Fach ist frei wählbar. Die unterschiedlichen Fächer können entsprechend der persönlichen Interessen in vielfältiger Weise kombiniert werden. Das Zustandekommen der jeweiligen Kurse hängt von der Nachfrage der Schüler ab:

Group 1 – Mother Tongue

  • German A, Literature: SL/HL
  • English A, Language and Literature: SL/HL
  • Chinese A self-taught: SL
  • Russian A self-taught: SL
  • Spanish A self-taught: SL
  • andere self-taught languages nur nach Rücksprache

Group 2 – Foreign Language

  • English B: HL
  • German B: HL
  • French B: SL/HL

Group 3 – Social Science

  • Geography: SL/HL
  • Economics: SL/HL
  • Business & Management: SL/HL

Group 4 – Experimental

  • Biology: SL/HL
  • Chemistry: SL/HL
  • Design Technology: SL/HL
  • Physics SL/HL

Group 5 – Mathematics

  • Mathematics: SL/HL
  • Mathematical Studies: SL

Group 6 – The Arts

  • Visual Arts: SL/HL
Das IB Diploma legt größten Wert auf die Unterscheidung zwischen guten und ausgezeichneten Schülern. Kein Wunder, dass die besten Universitäten der Welt die ausgezeichneten IB-Absolventen gern aufnehmen.
Christine Brinck, DIE ZEIT

IB Diploma Kernbereich

Der Kitt, der aus dem Diplom eine zusammenhängende Gesamtqualifikation macht. Zusätzlich umfasst das IB Diploma in seinem Lehrplan drei weitere, wesentliche Komponenten außerhalb des normalen Unterrichts.

„Theory of Knowledge“ (TOK) ist ein Fach, welches den Schülern die Möglichkeit bietet, sich kritisch mit vielfältigen Wissens- und Fachgebieten auseinanderzusetzen und diese im Unterricht zu reflektieren. Ziel ist es, ein tieferes Verständnis dafür zu entwickeln, wie bzw. durch unterschiedliche Methoden und Perspektiven Wissen generiert wird. Dadurch soll insbesondere auch das kritische Denken gefördert werden.

Eine weitere Komponente ist ein selbstgewähltes Forschungsprojekt, das sogenannte „Extended Essay“ (EE). Dieses gipfelt in einer selbstständig angefertigten wissenschaftlichen Ausarbeitung. Es wird von Schülern und Lehrern viel Wert auf dieses Projekt gelegt, da es die Grundlagen des akademischen Recherchierens - wichtig für ein zukünftiges Hochschulstudium - vermittelt.

Der dritte Baustein im Kernbereich des IB Diplomas ist der Bereich „CAS“ (Creativity, Activity, Service). Dadurch werden die Schüler zu einer kreativen, aktiven und sozialen Lebensweise angeleitet. Sie sollen sich selbstständig in verschiedenen Projekten für die Gemeinschaft engagieren. Dabei bedienen sich die IB-Schüler beim außerunterrichtlichen Angebot der Schule.

Eine ausführliche Beschreibung des IB Diploma Kernbereichs kann im IB Handbook nachgelesen werden.

Internationale Privatschule, Hamburg, Deutschland

Final Exams

Final Exams im Diploma Programme – weltweit am selben Tag

Anders als beim Abitur werden in der Prüfung alle Fächer gleich stark gewichtet. Die Schüler sammeln maximal 45 Punkte. Mit 24 haben sie bestanden. 

Die Prüfungen für das IB werden zentral ausgearbeitet und in der ganzen Welt am selben Tag abgenommen und später von Prüfern aller Herren Länder benotet. Die Ergebnisse werden ungefähr sechs Wochen nach den Prüfungen bekanntgegeben.

Das IB Diploma schafft ideale Voraussetzungen für die Aufnahme eines Studiums im Ausland. Für ein späteres Berufsleben in einer globalen Welt und für den kulturellen Austausch ist das IB Diploma ein besonders guter erster Schritt. Es bietet gleichzeitig durch die englische Unterrichtssprache und Multikulturalität der Mitschüler die Chance zur „Auslandsschulerfahrung vor Ort“.

Elternberatung und Aufnahme

Der Weg in die IB World School Louisenlund

Die Entscheidung für die richtige Schule und der damit verbundene Schulwechsel sind für Eltern und Kinder eine besondere Herausforderung, die sorgfältig überlegt sein sollte. Und so verschafft die richtige Schule dem Kind alle Chancen für die Zukunft.

Gerne informieren wir interessierte Eltern und Kinder über unser Angebot und die Möglichkeiten, die die IB World School Louisenlund bietet.

Damit Sie einen besonders authentischen Eindruck von Louisenlund bekommen, laden wir Sie und Ihre Kinder gerne zu einem ersten persönlichen Kennenlernen ein. Dies gibt uns die Gelegenheit, Persönlichkeit und Leistungsstand des Kindes einzuschätzen und zu erfahren, ob wir den Erwartungen des Kindes gerecht werden können. Darüber hinaus informieren wir Sie umfassend über unser akademisches sowie pädagogisches Konzept und die Besonderheiten des englischsprachigen International Baccalaureate.

Aufnahmebüro

Sigrid Redlefsen
Tel. +49 4354 999-333
sigrid.redlefsen@louisenlund.de

Kosten

Schenken Sie Ihrem Kind eine Schulzeit in Louisenlund

Als Privatschule und gemeinnützige Stiftung finanziert sich der Haushalt der Stiftung Louisenlund vorwiegend aus den Elternbeiträgen. Den Elternbeitrag legt der Vorstand als Jahressatz für ein Schuljahr fest.

Schüler können die IB World School als „Externe Schüler“, „Tagesschüler“ oder „Interne Schüler“ besuchen“. Die Kostenübersicht finden Sie hier: